Sweet Little Lies by Jill Shalvis Review

SLL

  • Adult Contemporary Romance
  • Published: June 28, 2016
  • Series: Heartbreaker Bay #1
  • Amazon | B&N  Kobo iBooks

 

About Sweet Little Lies 

Choose the one guy you can’t have . . .

As captain of a San Francisco Bay tour boat, Pru can handle rough seas—the hard part is life on dry land. Pru loves her new apartment and her neighbors; problem is, she’s in danger of stumbling into love with Mr. Right for Anybody But Her.

Fall for him—hard . . .

Pub owner Finn O’Riley is six-foot-plus of hard-working hottie who always makes time for his friends. When Pru becomes one of them, she discovers how amazing it feels to be on the receiving end of that deep green gaze. But when a freak accident involving darts (don’t ask) leads to shirtless first aid, things rush way past the friend zone. Fast.

And then tell him the truth.

Pru only wants Finn to be happy; it’s what she wishes for at the historic fountain that’s supposed to grant her heart’s desire. But wanting him for herself is a different story—because Pru’s been keeping a secret that could change everything. . . .

 

My Review 

 

1463419018424

 

To say that I loved this book is a gross understatement. I absolutely and utterly adored this book. I had the biggest smile on my face and in my heart while reading this book. This book has already jumped into my top 3 favorite books of 2016 and has hit my all time favorites list. I’ve read a lot of Jill Shalvis books over the years, but I think this is by far her best book ever.

This book is everything that you would want in a romantic comedy; Amazing sexual tension and chemistry, hilarious laugh out loud moments, and a warm sense of family, forgiveness and community all wrapped up in 384 pages of goodness. From one of the fist interactions between Finn & Pru, I could see and feel their intense chemistry coming off the screen of my iPad.

All of which was fascinating, but not nearly as fascinating as Finn himself, which meant that her eyes, the traitors, swiveled right back to him. He pointed at her. 

“Me?” she asked, even though he couldn’t possibly hear her from across the place. With barely there smile, he gave her a finger crook. Yep. Her. 

If you’ve ever read a Jill Shalvis book before, then you know her supporting cast of characters are just as colorful and interesting as the main characters. And this cast of characters are just wonderful. I love how even though Pru is new to the San Francisco area, Finn’s friends are more than eager to have her join their group of friends and immediately love her as if she has been with them for years. I especially love the female friendships in this book and how supportive they are of one another. The sense of community in this cozy neighborhood within San Francisco makes me all warm and fuzzy inside. It makes me want to move there and hang out in O’Riley’s Pub and play darts with the whole gang. Their sense of humor and witty one liners kept me laughing.

“Maybe he hasn’t shaved,” Willa said. “That’d keep me from dropping trou. I only shaved from my knees down. My things are as hairy as a lumberjack’s chest, which is why I’m wearing capris and not short shorts. You are all welcome.”

I also loved Pru’s character and how tough and tenacious she was. She had been through a lot in life that led her to Finn and this point in her life, but she still was a happy person and open and giving and willing to bring happiness to Finn no matter what. It was so refreshing to see a character that wasn’t jaded about life and everything that it can throw at you from time to time. And Finn is one of the sweetest, romantic, caring, understanding, and sexiest alpha’s book boyfriends that I have come across this year.

He wanted to claim her, wanted to leave his mark on her. On the inside. On her heart and in her soul. 

This book and series is a great replacement for the Lucky Harbor series that fans have been sorely missing since it ended in 2014. I am beyond excited to read about the rest of the cast of characters in this series and I hope this will be a long lasting series for years to come.

*I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

XOXO, 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Sweet Little Lies by Jill Shalvis Review

Leave a Reply

