Law Man (Dream Man #3) by Kristen Ashley Review

lm

 

  • Contemporary Romance/ Romantic Suspense

  • Published: January 1, 2012

  • Series: Dream Man #3

  • Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo

BLURB 

 

Love is just around the corner . . .

Sweet, shy Mara Hanover is in love with her neighbor. For four years, she has secretly watched her dream man from afar. Handsome police detective Mitch Lawson is way out of her league. She’s a girl from the wrong side of the tracks, and there’s no way a guy like Mitch would want anything to do with her. But when Mara has a leaky faucet that she can’t fix, it’s Mitch who comes to her rescue.

Mitch has been eyeing his beautiful neighbor for a long time. He jumps at the chance to help her, and soon their formerly platonic relationship gets very hot and heavy. But when Mara gets a disturbing phone call from her cousin’s kids, she gets pulled back into the life she’s tried so hard to leave behind. Can the hot law man convince Mara to let go of her past-and build a future with him?

 

MY REVIEW 

 

 

1455850133331

Okay I know I’m a few years behind with this series, but ohmygoodness it just keeps getting better and better. I’ve been anticipating Mitch’s book since I first met him in Mystery Man and his story sure as hell did not disappoint. It was everything I wanted it to be and more. Mitch Lawson gave the biggest, full body swoongasm that I ever had. I was literally camped out on my living room couch having a full on swoony moment. All because of the words that come out of Detective Mitchell James Lawson’s mouth. He was just an absolutely divine KA hero. He’s warm, loving, big hearted, sexy, sarcastic, and so beautifully alpha.
Mara…oh my, my heart just ached for her at times. Other times I wanted to pull off one my imaginary hot pink Manolo Blahnik shoes and hit her over the head with it. (You absolutely have to imagine yourself wearing the most fabulous shoes while reading a Kristen Ashley novel. There’s just no other way to do it. Those or a super cute nightie.) I loved how relatable she was; being that she was shy and lives in her head most of the time compartmentalizing people and where they fall in life. One of the things that I love most about KA’s heroines is that they don’t know how absolutely wonderful they are. They don’t flaunt it, they just exude that wonderfulness on a daily basis. And that is Mara Hanover.
I’m usually not a huge fan of my romance novels having kids be the main part of the story (I have to admit that I’m guilty of skimming the kids parts in some books), but there was no way that I couldn’t fall head over heels for Billy and Billie. I know that they’re just fictional kids, but those two are some of the most amazing children that I’ve come across in a work of fiction. They just brought home the theme of family in this story that much more; Sometimes you are lucky enough to be born with some amazing and not so amazing family members, and sometimes you can also be lucky enough to be able to choose your family.
There was definitely a slow burn between Mitch and Mara but it was so heartwarmingly beautiful when it finally exploded into full blown love. It just made me feel all warm and gushy inside because you knew that both Mitch and Mara really were made for each other. Everything that brought them to each other, being apart for four years, it all happened for a reason. Billy and Billie being born to shitty ass parents, it all happened for a reason. Basically there is a reason for going through shit circumstances in life, and if you can just hang on and survive getting to the sweet side, it is going to make you appreciate the sweet even more.
And probably the thing that I love most about a KA novel is that they are each so plot and character driven. I never have to worry about being bored because you never know when the suspense will kick in and someone will be shot, kidnapped, or both. It’s always a good time with a KA novel!
Until next time,

xoxo Rach

 

Leave a Reply

