Defenseless by Corinne Michaels ARC Review

defenseless cover reveal

Blurb

My life is a secret.

His life is dangerous.

We’re both stubborn, calculating, and controlling.

Mark Dixon doesn’t know what he’s getting into. He doesn’t know his games could cost us our lives. I have to do what is necessary to keep us alive, and that means guarding my heart.

But I know I’m defenseless against him, and in the end, he’ll force me to surrender.

Amazon➜ http://amzn.to/1ZSU2gs

Amazon UK➜ http://amzn.to/1WRYo5V

iBooks➜ http://apple.co/1H9NrEO

Barnes & Noble➜  http://bit.ly/1XP2huY

Kobo➜ http://bit.ly/1Np5zC4

 

 1453909977952

Holy wow, I absolutely ADORED this book! It was emotional, hand sweating suspenseful, hilarious, and swooningly sexy.

Mark and Charlie are already one of my favorite couples that I’ve read this year. I love the snarky and witty banter, and the unspoken emotional connection between the two of them runs deep. Even though DEFENSELESS is a standalone novel, there are four previous books that are set in this same world, with the same characters weaved in and out of those books. I have to say that I didn’t feel lost at all jumping into the middle of this story line. I really felt that the previous events and relationships were thoroughly explained and have even made me want to go back and read those books.

Charlie is the most badass heroine that I’ve read about in a long time. She’s strong, stubborn, sarcastic, and extremely intelligent. She’s an undercover CIA agent that would put any Bond girl to shame. Mark is sexy, demanding and just as stubborn as Charlie. I love how perceptive he is of Charlie, who she is and her comfort level. He understands her need for control because of her job. Mark really is the first guy to push back against Charlie and give back as good as she dishes out. And he’s not afraid to call her out on her shit. This of course makes for amazing intense chemistry between the two of them. Mark is the type of alpha male who can stand right next to Charlie and help her shine. Mark has his own demons that he has been battling with for years, but he is hell bent on showing Charlie that they are meant to be together and just how good for each other they are.

I really enjoyed Corinne’s writing and the suspenseful world that she created. I felt like I was right with Mark and Charlie during each heart racing part of their mission. And of course, the sex scenes were amazing. If you love steamy romantic suspense with an amazing plot and strong characters, then DEFENSELESS is the book for you.

xoxo, Rach

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. 

 

Leave a Reply

