Top Ten Favorite Books of 2015

 

IMG_20151228_163212

 

It’s so hard to believe that another reading year has come to an end, but I’m very excited to share my list of favorite reads of this past year with my fellow bookworms! It was a bit of a rough reading year for me with the hitting my original goal of 60 books, so half way through the year I lowered my goal to 40 books to take a bit of the pressure off myself. That helped me a lot to sit back and actually enjoy what I was reading. And getting myself into a reading schedule. along with a different frame of mind about reading really helped me reach my goal.

Screenshot_2015-12-28-17-32-26-1 Even though I read just over 40 books, I still had a hard time just picking my top ten books of 2015. You can see some of the other books on my favorites of 2015 shelf on Goodreads. So without further delay, here is my list of books that I loved this year. (I’m not listing them in any particular order because each one struck a vein with me in some sort of way.) If I have a review posted here on the blog, I will make sure to link back to it for easy reading.

 

  1. Beyond What Is Given by Rebecca Yarros 

25518107 (1)

The feels. Oh the FEELS with this book. I binged the military romance Flight & Glory series at the beginning of the fall and was not disappointed at all. I loved every single book in the series, but this third installment stuck out to me the most. It’s emotional, has a diverse cast of characters with an interracial romance, secrets and super hot sex. Grayson Masters is the perfect book boyfriend; he’s sexy, intelligent, romantic, and dirty when he’s underneath the sheets. If you only read one book from this list, this should be the one!

 

2. Lev by Belle Aurora 

Lev

This book started out as a complete mystery to me. I picked it up on a whim because of all the buzz surrounding it on Instagram. I went in blind and ended up loving it more because of that. This book was unique, sometimes dark, moving and quite funny. All of the characters were different from my usual reads which was quite refreshing. If you’re looking for something new and different and not cookie cutter in your contemporary romance, definitely add this book to your TBR.

 

3. Say You’re Mine by Diane Alberts 

SayYoureMine_500

Super steamy, sexy, and loads of playful fun! This book was a quick read and reaffirmed by love for all things Diane Alberts. I won’t fan girl too much more over this books since I seemed to do that a lot earlier in the month but my review explains why Steven is my #1 ginger book boyfriend.

 

4. Dear Professor by Blaire Drake 

DP

This book gets my vote for best debut of the year and best taboo romance. If student/teacher romances are your thing, this book is right up your alley. Professor Jordan Keaton will make you thirsty and want to go back to school ASAP just so he can feel you up during his office hours. Even though the sex was off the charts hot, there was a lot of romance and heart to this story. Very well rounded book for a debut author.

 

5. Off Base by Tessa Bailey & Sophie Jordan 

OffBase

It’s no secret that I’m an enthusiastic Tessa Bailey fan girl, so it shouldn’t be any surprise to see her on this list. This time around she self published with Sophie Jordan and I loved every single minute of both of these stories. TB is known for being the queen of dirty talking and she set the bar high with her story of a virgin military hero. Sophie Jordan’s story that was set in the same world, but follows a different couple was just as hot. I quickly added all of Sophie’s contemporary titles to my TBR. If you’re looking for two quick stories to break up your regular reading schedule then pick up this set straight away.

 

6. Five Ways To Fall by K.A. Tucker 

FWTF

Another series that I binge read this fall and absolutely fell in love with. Just about every book in this series made it onto my favorites of 2015 shelf, but this one was my top favorite. I loved how we got to see glimpses of Ben, the hero in this story throughout each installment in this series , but never got to know who he really was until this book. This book was full of love, lessons, sexy times. I’m so glad that I can finally cross “read a K.A. Tucker book” off of my master TBR list.

 

7. All I Want by Jill Shalvis 

AllIWant

This book was the final in Jill Shalvis’ Animal Magnetism series and ended up being my favorite out of all 7 books. It was just full of ooey gooey goodness! I’m a HUGE Jill fan and loved this book to pieces. Reading her books are like experiencing a good piece of chocolate or a brownie; you want to savor it, but at the same time you know you can gobble up the whole thing in one sitting. Her books are comfort reads and slump breakers for me, because I know that I’ll always enjoy the witty banter, sexy chemistry, and sweet heroes that is included in every single one of her books. Definitely add this series to your list!

 

8. What to do With a Bad Boy by Marie Harte 

MHe

This was one of the first books I read at the beginning of the year and it was a part of a series that made Marie Harte into one of my favorite authors and placed her high on my auto-buy list. The 4th book in the McCauley Brother’s series particularly stuck out to me because the heroine Del isn’t like your typical romance book girlfriend. She’s a major tomboy who’s a mechanic, but still has a soft feminine side to. I really enjoyed that juxtaposition in her personality.  The whole series is amazing, but I really loved how Del and Mike came together.

 

9. Mystery Man by Kristen Ashley 

MMKA

HOLY SHIT! This book. Sooooo many feels! This is my last read of 2015 and probably my most favorite if I had to be forced to pick a #1 read of 2015. So many emotions. The angst, frustration, romance, mystery, sexy times and suspense. It had it ALL. I have to admit, my book club has been trying to get me to read this book for the 4 years and every time I tried I could never get into it. I never seemed to be in the mood for it, even though it’s a book by one of my all time favorite authors. I’m so glad that I didn’t give up, because I absolutely fell in love with Gwen & Hawk. Gwen’s character was so easy to relate to and Hawk was the usual angst inducing KA alpha. She definitely has her own brand of sexy super alpha males. Many a time I wanted to throw my e-reader across the room because I was so frustrated with Hawk. In my book, that is the sign of a truly good story. If you’ve had this book on your TBR for ages, please don’t hesitate in picking it up. You’ll be in for the ride of your life!

 

10. Easy Melody by Kristen Proby 

KP

I usually gobble up Kristen Proby’s books like candy, as she is an all time favorite of mine. This new family saga of hers wasn’t any different. I fell head over heels in love with Eli Boudreaux who is a sexy southern charmer and the city of New Orleans which felt like another character. This book definitely made me want to visit the beautiful city of NOLA as soon as I possible could. I also love the family aspect that Kristen portrays in all of her series. Makes you wish you could be apart of these fictional families as well. If you’ve never read anything by her, this is a great jumping off point.

 

What’s on your list for favorite books of 2015?

XOXO, Rach

Leave a Reply

