October Weekly Wrap Up #1

Since my reading pace has picked up, I’ve decided to do weekly wrap up’s so that I can go into more detail about the books I read. This week will feature the books that are not featured in my monthly wrap up below.

After finishing up/catching up on two series in September, I was in the mood to read something quick and dirty standalone with an alpha male. My go to author for that is always Tessa Bailey. Her Line of Duty series is one of my absolute favorite series of all time. Tessa always writes strong, dirty talking alpha males who work hard and love their women fiercely.  So I decided to pick up her novella collaboration with Sophie Jordan, Off Base.

OffBase

Summary: 

OFF BASE: Kenna and Beck
By Tessa Bailey

A welcome home he never expected…and will never forget…

When Kenna Sutton is tasked with driving home newly returned Beck “True Blue” Collier, she expects the strategic Army mastermind to be a pasty number cruncher. Never at a loss for words, Kenna is nonetheless rendered speechless by the gorgeous, inexperienced and tightly-wound Army major that lands in her passenger seat. Outraged by Beck’s lack of a welcome home after seven long years overseas, Kenna takes matters into her own hands, giving Beck something he’s only ever fantasized about in his bunk.

Beck has never shied away from a test of will and Kenna gives new meaning to the word challenge. One problem? Kenna’s father is the lieutenant general presenting Beck with the Silver Star and Beck is determined to treat Kenna with the respect she deserves, even if her eyes beg Beck to act out his most secret desires with her. Desires he’s always been told were the work of the devil. But how long can one lonely, starving man hope to resist the woman he craves?

My Thoughts: 

I absolutely LOVED this little novella. The chemistry between Beck and Kenna was off the charts right from the first time they met. The pacing was so on point that I didn’t even feel like I was reading a novella. Usually with such short stories you have to worry about forced “insta-love”, but here you didn’t. Sure their instant attraction was purely physical, but they ended up connecting on so many more levels which was nice. I felt that both character’s personalities were fully fleshed out and I could relate to both of them on their fears about getting into a relationship. And as always, Tessa’s sex scenes are rocking hot and some of the best out there! Rating: 5 Stars/Favorites Shelf 

Since the two stories in this book are interconnected, I immediately started Sophie Jordan’s story.

Summary: 

OFF BASE: Huntley and Cullen
By Sophie Jordan

Being a good girl has its drawbacks…

Huntley Collier, an emergency room nurse and all-around do-gooder, is tired of living in the friend zone. Cullen Brooks was given the job of babysitting Huntley when her brother – his best friend – deployed. But their friendly coffeehouse hangouts and TV marathons leave her wanting more. When one crazy night leads to too many drinks and an explosion of long-denied lust, Huntley’s dreams become a reality. And reality is one hot, wild place she never wants to leave.

But only a good girl can bring down a bad boy…

Known as Sullen Cullen around Black Rock, Cullen Brooks doesn’t have many friends, but Huntley is one of them … and despite his decidedly unfriendly fantasies of the curvy blonde, she is far too sweet for his darker tastes. Keeping his hands off is easier said than done, however, when demure, little Huntley responds to his touch like the wildcat he never expected…and can’t stop pursuing, despite his better judgment. But when Cullen suddenly faces losing her, will this bad boy risk it all to keep his good girl?

My Thoughts: 

This was my first read by Sophie Jordan and this story absolutely knocked it out of the park! I was engrossed from the first page and felt the longing, heat and electric chemistry between Cullen and Huntley. I love friends to lovers story and this one did not disappoint in the least. Their story was sweet, smokin’ hot, and gave me all of the feels. I’m definitely adding Sophie Jordan to my short list TBR. Rating: 5 Stars/Favorites Shelf 

And lastly I decided to listen to an audio book on the recommendation of a few girls in my book club. I’ve been trying to incorporate more audio books into my reading rotation, so I recently signed up for a subscription to Scribd. (If you click on that link, it will give you a free two month subscription)  The book I picked out for this month was Beneath This Mask by Meghan March. This is the first in the Beneath series with takes place in the beautiful city of New Orleans.

BeneathThisMask

Summary: 

He loves me, and he doesn’t even know my real name.

The limelight that follows him could expose everything I’m hiding. But even knowing the risks, I can’t force myself to stay away.

I’m going to break his heart, but mine will shatter right along with it.

Will we lose it all when I reveal what’s beneath this mask?

*This book was narrated by Holter Graham and Andi Arndt.

My Thoughts:

I enjoyed reading this story and watching the relationship between Charlie and Simon develop, but I did have some problems with the way some conflicts were tied up in a neat little bow. I just felt that the crux of the story fell apart and some things were just implausible. But over all it was quite entertaining and unputdownable and I will be continuing with this series on audio just so I can hear Holter Graham’s yummy, sexy voice. Rating: 4 Stars

How was your reading week? Anything that I need to add to my TBR?

3 thoughts on “October Weekly Wrap Up #1

  1. Sabrina Marsi Books

    I can barely look at a book without feeling bad right now. I’m in a huge reading slump. Also I just started my book blog so what would u recommend/can I get some advice

    Like

    1. Hi!! I just started mine as well! What kind of books are you into? I started a bit of a following on Instagram before I started my blog. And I’m trying to review each book that I read. Also I plan on doing a weekly feature about all of the books that I acquire/buy each week and new releases that I’m looking forward to. Hope this helps and feel free to ask me any other questions! Good luck! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

