September 2015 Wrap Up

September ended up being an amazing reading month for me! I finally got my reading mojo back! Yayy!! I gave myself a goal of 5 books and ended up reading 9 books. Here are the books I read, my star rating, and a few thoughts on each of the books.

IMG_20151001_103820

First I kept on with my K.A. Tucker reading marathon from last month by reading One Tiny Lie for which I have a full review posted below.

Next I read, Four Seconds To Lose, which was Cain and Charlie’s story. I really enjoyed this book because it was a little bit darker, suspenseful, and more mysterious than the previous books. Cain was a wonderfully delicious, broken alpha male and Charlie was a kick ass heroine. I thoroughly enjoyed this installment of the Ten Tiny Breaths series.  Rating: 5 Stars

I followed up with the next book in the series, Five Ways To Fall which was Ben and Reese’s story. This book started off a bit slow for me, but it ended up being my favorite book of the whole series for me. There was a great slow burn, friends to lover story between these two characters and I love how they both found out wonderful things about themselves by being together. It was awesome ending to an amazing series. Rating: 5 Stars

Then I decided I needed a pallet cleanser and picked up a novella, Easy With You by Kristen Proby. I didn’t realize when I first started this book that this was actually #1.5 in her Boudreaux and #8.5 in her With Me In Seattle series, which is a top favorite of mine. Even though I came in on the middle of the Boudreaux series, I didn’t feel lost at all. The pacing and plotting of this little novella was great. The chemistry and sexual tension between the two main characters, Asher and Lila was off the charts smexy. It also featured an awesome, suspenseful murder mystery. Rating: 5 Stars

Then later in the month, one of my most anticipated reads of 2015 was finally released; Slider by Stacy Borel. And I’m sad to report that I did not enjoy this book as much as the first book, Bender in The Core Four series. I just felt that there was a whole lot missing to the story. Mainly, I didn’t feel the intense chemistry and pull between Annabelle and Turner. I’m glad that we finally got this book, but unfortunately it just didn’t hit the spot for me. But I did enjoy it for what it was. Rating: 3 Stars

So as not to get myself into a reading slump, I went back and read the first and second books in the Boudreaux series, Easy Love and Easy Charm respectively. Each of these books follows a sibling in the Boudreaux shipping empire family. I love Kristen Proby’s alpha males and tough heroine’s but I have to say that my most favorite character in this series so far is the city of New Orleans. I just want to run off and explore NOLA. Both books were my favorite reads this month. Rating: 5 Stars For Both Books

Then I perused by TBR on Goodreads and found that I hadn’t read a Jennifer Probst book in ages. She is on my all time favorites list and I knew that she started a new adult series spin-off from her hugely popular, Marriage To A Billionaire series. Book one, Searching For Someday follows a trio of matchmaking best friends. This book was cute and whimsical and had one of the best epilogue’s I’ve ever read. You got to see Kate and Slade, the two main love interests learn how to trust and have faith in love. I can’t wait to see where the rest of the books in this series take me. Rating: 4.5 Stars 

And lastly I read one last novella, Saving Grace by Kristen Proby which is book # 2.5 in the Love Under The Big Sky series. This story follows Grace and Jacob and how they fall in love and find their HEA in one fun snow filled weekend at a ski resort. Rating: 3 Stars 

Overall I really enjoyed this reading month and am so glad that I was able to catch up on a few series that have been sitting on my TBR for eons! What were some of your favorite reads from September?

Leave a Reply

